2022 Officer, Committee and Sectional Reports

All reports due by Friday, July 8

JULY 24, 3-5pm AKDT


  1. Call to Order and Introductions (Michael Donoghue)

  2. Approval of Minutes of the 2021 Council Meeting  

  3. Reports of Executive Committee, Editors, and Staff

    A. President (Michael Donoghue)  
    B. Past President (Cindi Jones)
    C. President Elect (Vivian Negron-Ortiz)
    D. Treasurer's Report,  FY2022 P&LFY2022 P&L vs. Budget,
        FY2023 Budget  (Lucinda McDade) 
    E. Program Director Report (Melanie Link-Perez) 
    F. Editor, American Journal of Botany (Pamela Diggle) (see Publications Report)
    G. Editor, Applications in Plant Sciences (Briana Gross)(See Publications Report)
    H. Editor, Plant Science Bulletin (MacKenzie Taylor) 
    I. Business Office Report -Executive Director (Heather Cacanindin)

  4. Reports of Committees, Sections, and Representatives

    A. Standing Committees and Other Administrative Reports
    1. Executive Committee (Michael Donoghue) See President's Report
    2. Annual Meetings Program Committee (Melanie Link-Perez) See Program Director's Reoprt
    3. Committee on Committees (Vivian Negron-Ortiz)   See President-Elect's report
    4. Development Committee (Jennifer Cruse-Sanders)
    5. Financial Advisory Committee (Larry Hufford)
    6. Education Committee (Rachel Jabaily)
    7. Publications Committee (Emily Sessa)
    8. Election Committee (Cindi Jones)  
    9. DEI Committee (Chelsea Specht)
    10. Information Technology Committee - nothing to report
    11. Investment Committee (Toby Kellogg) 
    12. International Affairs  (Hugo Cota Sanchez)
    13. Public Policy Committee (Tanisha Williams and Krissa Skogen)
    14. Botany & Beyond Grant (Anna Monfils)
    15. Early Career Professional Development Committee (Karolina Heyduk, Miranda Sinnott-Armstrong and Ben Blackman)
    16. Student Representatives (Imeña Valdes and Ioana Anghel)

    B. Standing Committees (Awards and Prizes)

    1. Corresponding Members Committee  (Cindi Jones)
    2. BSA Distinguished Fellows and Emerging Leader Awards Committee (Vivian Negron-Ortiz) see President-Elect report
    3. Bessey Award Committee (Kyra Krakos and Rachel Jabaily)- see Teaching section report
    4. Cheadle Award Committee (Jessica Budke)- See D&S Section report
    5. Esau Award Committee (Jessica Budke/Cheng-Chiang Wu) - See D&S Section report
    6. Donald R. Kaplan Memorial Lecture Committee (Madeleine Bartlett)
    7. Moseley Award Committee (see Paleo report)
    8. Kaplan Award in Comparative Morphology (Lena Hileman)
    9. Graduate Student Research Awards Committee (Morgan Gostel and Richard Moore)

    C. Sections

    1. Bryological and Lichenological Section (Scott Schuette)
    2. Developmental and Structural Section (Jessica Budke)  
    3. Ecology Section - Member Report, Finance Report (Brenda Molano-Flores)
    4. Economic Botany Section (Laura Klein / Emily Warshefsky)  
    5. Genetics Section (Jeremy Coate) 
    6. Historical Section (Nuala Caomhanach) 
    7. Paleobotanical Section (Michael Dunn)
    8. Physiological Section (Arthur Schwarz) 
    9. Phytochemistry Section (Stacey Smith)
    10. Pteridological Section (Alejandra Vasco) 
    11. PUI Section (Jennifer Ison and Nathan Jud)
    12. Systematics Section (Anna Monfils) 
    13. Teaching Section (Kyra Krakos) 
    14. Tropical Biology Section (Margaret S. Devall) 
    15. Northeastern Section (Amy Faivre / Bonnie Isaac)
    16. Southeastern Section (Jeremy Rentsch) 

    5. Old Busines

    6.  New Business
                A.  FY2023 Budget - Lucinda McDade 
                B. Board Recommendations - Michael Donoghue        

    Recommendation 1:  It is recommended that we again hold a “new” student membership drive, in which any of our members can provide a gift             membership at the rate of $10 per student.

    Recommendation 2:  Dues increase.  The BSA dues have not changed since 2014, and with decreasing publications revenue, along with increased inflation and rising costs for everything from software to travel, we believe that raising the following membership fees is necessary.
                 Professional One-Year Membership = $75 (was $70)
              Professional One-Year Membership with GSRA donation = $100 (was $95)
    1. Professional One-Year Family Membership = $100 (was $85)
      Professional One-Year Family Membership with GSRA donation = $125 (was $110)
      Professional Three-Year Membership = $205 (was $195)
      Professional Three-Year Membership with GSRA donation = $280 (was $270)
      Professional Three-Year Family Membership = $280 (was $240)
      Professional Three-Year Family Membership with GSRA donation = $355 (was $315)
      Retired Membership = $40 (was $35)
      Retired Family Membership = $55 (was $50)

Please download the reports and read them PRIOR to the meeting. We will discuss the contents of the reports at the Council meeting.