BSA Sectional Officers


Bryological And Lichenological Section

Chair and ABLS President (2021):

Scott Schuette
Western Pennsylvania Conservancy
Email: swschuette@gmail.com

Program Director - ABLS President-elect (2021):

Daphne Stone
Oregon State University
Email: daphstone@gmail.com

Treasurer - ABLS Treasurer:

Klara Scharnagl
University of California Berkeley
Email: klara.scharnagl@gmail.com

Secretary - ABLS Secretary:

Diane Haughland
Royal Alberta Museum
Email: diane.haughland@gov.ab.ca

Developmental And Structural Section

Chair (2023):

Jessica Budke
University of Tennessee - Knoxville
Email: jbudke@utk.edu

Program & Student Awards Director (2024):

Rob Baker
University of Miami
rlbaker5@gmail.com

Secretary/Treasurer (2025):

Lena Hileman
University of Kansas
Email: lhileman@ku.edu

Ecology Section

Chair (2025):

Uromi Manage Goodale
Xian Jiaotong Liverpool University
Email: Uromi.Goodale@xjtlu.edu.cn

Vice-Chair: Vacant


Secretary & Program Director (2025):

Jessamine Finch
Native Plant Trust
Email: jfinch@nativeplanttrust.org

Economic Botany Section

Chair (2023):

Emily Warchefsky
Missouri Botanical Garden

Secretary-Treasurer (2023):

Tabitha Faber
University of Wisconsin

Genetics Section

Chair and Program Chair (2023):

Jeremy Coate
Reed College
Email: jcoate@reed.edu

Secretary-Treasurer (2023)

Clayton Visger
Email: clayton.visger@csus.edu

Awards Officer (2023)

Donavon Bailey
Email: dbailey@nmsu.edu

Historical Section

Chair & Program Director (2018)

Nuala Caomhanach
American Museum of Natural History
New York University
Email: nuala.caomhanach@gmail.com

Secretary-Treasurer (2017)

Vacant

Student Representative (2014):

Vacant


Paleobotanical Section

Secretary-Treasurer & Program Director (2024):

Patricia Ryberg
Park University
Email: patricia.ryberg@park.edu

Chair (2023):

Az Klymiuk
University of Manitoba
Email: aklymiuk@fieldmuseum.org

Editor, Bibliography of American Paleobotany (2023):

Andrew Simpson
University of Maryland
Email: andy.g.simpson@gmail.com

Phycological Section

In Recess


Physiological Section

Chair (2023):

Arthur Schwarz
Southwestern Adventist University
Email: schwarz.arthur@swau.edu

Program Director (2024):

Jessica Savage
University of Minnesota
Email: jsavage@d.umn.edu

Treasurer (2025):

Anitra Thorhaug
Yale University
Email: thorhaug@msn.com

Phytochemistry Section

Chair (2024):

Gaurav Moghe
Cornell University
Email: gdm67@cornell.edu

Secretary (2024):

Stacey Smith
University of Colorado-Boulder
Email: Stacey.D.Smith@colorado.edu

Student Representative (2024):

Thiti Suttiyut
Purdue University
Email: tsuttiyu@purdue.edu

International Representative (2024):

Kira Tiedge
University of Groningen
Email: k.j.tiedge@rug.nl


Primarily Undergraduate Institution (PUI) Section

Chair (2024):

Dr. Nathan Jud
William Jewell College
Email: judn@william.jewell.edu

Vice-Chair (2023):

Dr. Carrie Wu
University of Richmond
Email: cwu@richmond.edu

Secretary/Treasurer (2025):

Dr. Greg Pec
University of Nebraska Kearney
Email: pecg@unk.edu

Postdoc Ambassador (2023):

Dr. Rajeev Ranjan
Perdue University
Email: ranjan9@purdue.edu

Pteridological Section

Chair (2023):

Alejandra Vasco
Botanical Research Institute of Texas
Email: avasco@brit.org

Secretary-Treasurer (2023):

Tom Ranker
University of Hawaii at Manoa
Email: tom.ranker@gmail.com

Systematics Section

Chair:

Vacant

Secretary-Treasurer-Program Director (2025):

Linda Watson
Oklahoma State University
Email: linda.watson10@okstate.edu

Teaching Section

Chair (2024):

Vice Chair & Chair-Elect (2024):

Robert Noyd
U.S. Airforce Academy
Email: bob.noyd@usafa.edu

Secretary/Treasurer (2023):

David M. Krayesky
Slippery Rock University
Email: david.krayesky@sru.edu

Immediate Past Chair (2024):

Kyra Krakos
Maryville University
Email: kkrakos@maryville.edu

Tropical Biology Section

Chair (2024):

Vinita Gowda
IISER Bhopal
Email: gowdav@iiserb.ac.in

Secretary-Treasurer: (2024)

Travis Marsico
Arkansas State University
Email: tmarsico@astate.edu

Northeastern Section

Chairman (2024):

Amy Faivre
Cedar Crest College 
Email: aefaivre@cedarcrest.edu

Vice Chair & Program Director (2024):

Bonnie Isaac
Carnegie Museum of Natural History
Email: isaacb@carnegiemnh.org

Southeastern Section

Chairman (2021):

Jeremy D. Rentsch
Francis Marion University
Email: Jrentsch@fmarion.edu

Secretary/Treasurer (2021):

Matt Estep
Appalachian State University
Email: Estepmc@appstate.edu

Activities Chair (2021):

John J. Schenk
Ohio University
Email: schenk@ohio.edu