BSA Sectional Officers


Bryological And Lichenological Section

Chair and ABLS President (2021):

Scott Schuette
Western Pennsylvania Conservancy
Email: swschuette@gmail.com

Program Director - ABLS President-elect (2021):

Daphne Stone
Oregon State University
Email: daphstone@gmail.com

Treasurer - ABLS Treasurer:

Klara Scharnagl
University of California Berkeley
Email: klara.scharnagl@gmail.com

Secretary - ABLS Secretary:

Diane Haughland
Royal Alberta Museum
Email: diane.haughland@gov.ab.ca

Developmental And Structural Section

Chair (2022):

Jessica Budke
University of Tennessee - Knoxville
Email: jbudke@utk.edu

Program Director (2021):

Lena Hileman
Kansas University
Email: lhileman@ku.edu

Secretary/Treasurer (2021):

Andrew Doust
Oklahoma State University
Email: andrew.doust@okstate.edu

Ecology Section

Chair (2021):

Brenda Molano-Flores
University of Illinois / Illinois Natural History Survey
Email: molano1@illinois.edu

Vice-Chair (2021):

Uromi Manage Goodale
Guangxi University

Secretary & Program Director (2021):

Cynthia Huebner
USDA Forest Service

Economic Botany Section

Chair (2022):

Laura Klein, Ph.D.
Saint Louis University
Email: laura@leafworks.com

Secretary-Treasurer (2022):

Emily Warschefsky
University of Colorado Boulder
Email: e.warschefsky@gmail.com

Genetics Section

Chair (2020):

Ingrid Jordon-Thaden
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Email: ingrid.jordonthaden@wisc.edu

Program Chair (2020):

Jeremy Coate
Reed College
Email: jcoate@reed.edu

Secretary-Treasurer (2020)

Clayton Visger
Email: clayton.visger@csus.edu

Awards Officer (2020)

Donavon Bailey
Email: dbailey@nmsu.edu

Historical Section

Chair & Program Director (2018)

Nuala Caomhanach
American Museum of Natural History
New York University
Email: nuala.caomhanach@gmail.com

Secretary-Treasurer (2017)

Vacant

Student Representative (2014):

Vacant


Paleobotanical Section

Chair (2021):

Michael Dunn
Cameron University
Email: michaeld@cameron.edu

Secretary-Treasurer & Program Director (2024):

Patricia Ryberg
Park University
Email: patricia.ryberg@park.edu

Editor, Bibliography of American Paleobotany (2016):

M. Alejandra Gandolfo
Cornell University
Email: mag4@cornell.edu

Web Manager:

Vacant

Phycological Section

In Recess


Physiological Section

Chair (2023):

Arthur Schwarz
Southwestern Adventist University
Email: schwarz.arthur@swau.edu

Program Director (2024):

Jessica Savage
University of Minnesota
Email: jsavage@d.umn.edu

Treasurer (2022):

Anitra Thorhaug
Yale University
Email: thorhaug@msn.com

Phytochemistry Section

Interim Officer:

Stacey Smith
University of Colorado-Boulder
Email: Stacey.D.Smith@colorado.edu

Interim Officer:

Gaurav Moghe
Cornell University
Email: gdm67@cornell.edu

Interim Officer:

Rahul Roy
St. Catherine's University
Email: rroy858@stkate.edu

Interim Officer:

Courtney Leisner
Auburn University
Email: cpl0013@auburn.edu

Interim Officer:

Mia Howard (Postdoctoral representative)
Indiana University
Email: miahowa@iu.edu


Primarily Undergraduate Institution (PUI) Section

Program Coordinator/ Vice-Chairperson (2023):

Jason Cantley
San Francisco State University
cantley@sfsu.edu

Chair (2021):

Jennifer Ison
The College of Wooster
jison@wooster.edu

Secretary/Treasurer (2022):

Stephany Lyon
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
slyon@uwsp.edu

Student/Postdoc (2020):

Rachel McCoy
Purdue University
mccoy26@purdue.edu

Pteridological Section

Chair (2021):

Alejandra Vasco
Botanical Research Institute of Texas
Email: avasco@brit.org

Secretary-Treasurer (2022):

Tom Ranker
University of Hawaii at Manoa
Email: tom.ranker@gmail.com

Systematics Section

Chair (2021):

Anna Monfils
Central Michigan University
Email: monfi1ak@cmich.edu

Secretary-Treasurer-Program Director (2019):

Harvey Ballard
Ohio University
Email: ballardh@ohio.edu

Teaching Section

Chair (2021):

Immediate Past Chair (2021):

Madhav Nepal
South Dakota State University
Email: Madhav.Nepal@sdstate.edu

Vice Chair & Program Director (2021):

Benjamin Montgomery
University of South Carolina Upstate
Email: bmontgomery@uscupstate.edu

Secretary/Treasurer (2021):

David M. Krayesky
Slippery Rock University
Email: david.krayesky@sru.edu

Tropical Biology Section

Chair (2018):

Margaret S. Devall, Ecologist
Email: mdevall@fs.fed.us

Vice-Chair: (2018)

Travis Marsico
Arkansas State University
Email: tmarsico@astate.edu

Secretary-Treasurer (2018):

Suzanne Koptur
Florida International University
Email: kopturs@fiu.edu

Northeastern Section

Chairman (2024):

Amy Faivre 
Email: aefaivre@cedarcrest.edu

Vice Chair & Program Director (2019):

Bonnie Isaac
Email: isaacb@carnegiemnh.org

Southeastern Section

Chairman (2021):

Jeremy D. Rentsch
Francis Marion University
Email: Jrentsch@fmarion.edu

Secretary/Treasurer (2021):

Matt Estep
Appalachian State University
Email: Estepmc@appstate.edu

Activities Chair (2021):

John J. Schenk
Ohio University
Email: schenk@ohio.edu