Maynard Moseley Award - Developmental & Structural and Paleobotanical

DR. MAYNARD MOSELEY was widely recognized for his enthusiasm for and dedication to teaching and his students, as well as for his research using floral and wood anatomy to understand the systematics and evolution of angiosperm taxa, especially waterlilies. (PSB, Spring, 2003). The Maynard F. Moseley Award was established in 1995 to honor a career of dedicated teaching, scholarship, and service to the furtherance of the botanical sciences. Dr. Moseley, known to his students as “Dr. Mo”, died Jan. 16, 2003 in Santa Barbara, CA, where he had been a professor since 1949. The award is given to the best student paper, presented in either the Paleobotanical or Developmental and Structural sessions, that advances our understanding of plant structure in an evolutionary context.

In Remembrance of Dr. Maynard F. Moseley

2020 2021 | 2022 | 2023
2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 
2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009
1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999

2023Madison Lalica, California Polytechnic University, Humboldt, For the Presentation: Probing the origin and evolution of periderm: what can extant plants and the fossil record tell us? Co-author: Mihai Tomescu

2022 - Keana Tang, University of Kansas, For the Presentation: Crown group Lauraceae in the Late Cretaceous: new evidence from fossil flowers. Co-Authors: Kelly Matsunaga, Brian Atkinson

 2021 - Harold Suarez Baron, University of Antioquia, For the Presentation: Developmental and genetic mechanisms underlying trichome formation in the Aristolochia (Aristolochiaceae: Piperales) perianth. Co-Authors: Favio González, Soraya Pelaz, Juan Fernando Alzate, Barbara Ambrose, and Natalia Pabon Mora

2020 - Aleca Borsuk, Yale School of the Environment, for the presentation: Structural organization of the spongy mesophyll in laminar leaves with reticulate venation. Co-authors: Adam Roddy, Guillaume Theroux-Rancourt, and Craig Broderson

2019 - Katie Nolan, Eastern Michigan University, For the presentation: Comparative morphology of the dimorphic leaf glands in carnivorous butterworts (Pinguicula L.) Co-authors: Kylie Bocklund, Tianying Lan, Crystal Tomlin, Todd Michael, Victor Albert, Tanya Renne

2018 - No Maynard Moseley Award was awarded in 2018

2017 - Maya Bickner, from the Humboldt State University for the paper "New fossils from the Battery Point Formation of Gaspé (Quebec, Canada) expand the anatomical diversity of Early Devonian euphyllophytes" Co-authors: Selin Toledo and Alexandru Tomescu

2016 - Alex Bippus, from the Humboldt State University for the paper "Tiny ecosystems: bryophytes and other biotic interactions around an osmundaceous fern from the Eocene of Patagonia" Co-authors: Ignacio H Escapa and Alexandru Tomescu

2015 - Stephanie Conway, from the University of Melbourne, Australia, for the paper "Surface analysis of cell division in the shoot apical meristem of gymnosperms" Co-author: Andrew Drinnan

2014 - Fabiany Herrera, from the University of Florida, Florida Museum of Natural History, for the paper "Revealing the Floristic and Biogeographic Composition of Paleocene to Miocene Neotropical Forests " Co-authors: Steven Manchester and Carlos Jaramillo

2013 - Robert A. Stevenson, from the University of California - Berkeley
For his paper "Flight of the conifers: Reconstruction of the flight characteristics of Paleozoic winged conifer seeds" Co-authors: Dennis Evangelista and Cindy V Looy

2012 - Alexander Bippus, from Humboldt State University, Advisor, Alexandru Tomescu
For his paper "Thalloid fossils comparable to bryophyte and fern gametophytes from the Lower Cretaceous (Valanginian-Hauterivian) of Vancouver Island, British Columbia" Co-authors: Maria Friedman, Ruth Stockey, and Alexandru Tomescu

2011 - John Benedict, from Arizona State University, Advisor, Kathleen Pigg,
For his paper "The fossil history of Zingiberales and new insights based on fossil and extant members."

2010 - Natalie Pabon Mora, Graduate Center CUNY/ New York Botanical Garden
For the paper "The role of APETALA1/FRUITFULL genes in non-core eudicots." Her co-author was Amy Litt.

2009 - Erin Bissell, University of Colorado
For the paper “Modular genetic architecture of floral morphology in Nicotiana: comparative phenotypic and quantitative genetic approaches to floral integration. ” Her co-author was Pamela K. Diggle.

2008 - Eric Madrid, University of Colorado
For his paper “Female Gametophyte Developmental Evolution in Piperales. ” His co-author was Ned Friedman.

2007 - Samuel F. Brockington, University of Florida
For his paper “Differing patterns of MADS-box gene expression associated with shifts in petaloidy within Aizoaceae (Caryophyllales)” Co-authors were Mike Frohlich, Paula J. Rudall, Douglas E. Soltis and Pamela S. Soltis.

2006 - Yannick Staedler, Universität Zürich
For his paper “Floral architecture and phyllotaxis in Calycanthaceae (Laurales)” Co-authors were Peter H. Weston and Peter K. Endress.

2005 - Erika Edwards, Yale University
For for her paper “Pereskia water relations reflect deep ecophysiological conservatism in Cactaceae.”.

2004 - Athena McKown, University of Toronto
For for her her paper “Evolution of kranz anamomy in the genus Flaveria (Asteraceae).” Her co-authors were Jean-Marc Moncalvo and Nancy Dengler.

2003 - Stefan Little, University of Alberta, Edmonton
For his paper "Permineralized fruits of Lauraceae from the Middle Eocene Princeton chert, British Columbia." Stefan's co-author was Ruth Stockey.

2002 - Tatyana Livshultz, Cornell University
For her presentation in the Developmental and Structural Section entitled: "Comparative morphology and development of staminal coronas in Dischidia (Asclepiadoideae, Apocynaceae)."

2001 - Maria Von Balthazar,
For her paper entitled "Floral structure and phylogeny of Buxaceae" co-authored by Peter Endress

Genero Hernandez-Castillo
For "Evidence from compound pollen cones in Paleozoic conifers" coauthored by Gar Rothwell and Gene Mapes.

2000 - Sandra Floyd, University of Colorado
For her paper, co-authored with Ned Friedman, and entitled, "Endosperm development in Amborella trichopoda implications for the origin and early evolution of angiosperm reproductive biology."

Elizabeth Hermsen, Cornell University
For her paper, co-authored with William Crepet and Kevin Nixon and entitled, "A new fossil saxifragoid from the Upper Cretaceous of New Jersey."

1998 - Michelle McMahon, Washington State University
For her paper entitled "Corolla-androecium synorganization in the flowers of the tribe Amorpheae (Fabaceae)," coauthored with Larry Hufford.

1997 - Melinda Brad, University of Illinoisy
For her paper entitled "Exploring patterns in floral morphology: Mathematical modeling of floral development using an inhibitory morphogen and meristematic growth parameters."

1996 - Ranessa Cooper, Truman State University
For her paper entitled "Comparative pollen morphology and ultrastructure of the Callitrichaceae."

1995 - Susana Magallon-Puebla, University of Chicago and the Feild Museum of Natural History
For her paper entitled "Floral remains of Hamamelidaceae from Campanian strata of Georgia."