Phycological Section Student Travel Awards

Award Recipients:

2011 - Timothy Rocwell, llinois State University - Advisor, Dr. Martha Cook - Botany 2011 presentation: "Cell division in the charophycean green alga Entransia fimbriata."

2008 - Kendra Bunner, Illinois State University, Normal, IL - Advisor, Dr. Martha Cook - Botany 2008 presentation: "Description of Zoospore Structure and Development in Entransia fimbriata (Charophyceae)."

2007 - Chang Jae Choi, University of Wisconsin, Advisor: Dr. John A. Berges for the poster entitled; "Contrasting features of cell death in response to oxidative stress in marine and freshwater chlorophyte algae"

2006 - Nestor Anzola, University of Southern Mississippi, Advisor: Dr. George F. Pessoney for his Botany 2006 presentation entitled; "Algae From the Pascagoula River Basin: Phytoplankton Responses to Water Chemistry Dynamic in Small Streams"

2005 - Kevin Kocot, Illinois State University, for his Botany 2005 presentation entitled; "Ultrastructure and Morphology of Development in the Charophycean Green Alga Chaetosphaeridium (Coleochaetales)"