2022 Genetics Botany Section Report to the BSA Council Submitted by Jeremy Coate, Chair, July 8 2022

2020-2021 Activities:

Contributed papers: 107, organized into four sessions (Comparative genomics/transcriptomics [38 papers]; Population genetics/genomics [38 papers]; Hybribs and hybridization [17 papers]; and Functional genetics/genomics [14 papers])

Margret Menzel best paper award: 50 talks were submitted and was awarded to Irene Liao

Genetics section poster award: Poster awards were suspended during botany 2021 due to potential complications with a fully remote conference. However, poster awards are slated to resume for Botany 2022 with two \$250 awards (one undergraduate and one graduate student)

Genetics section business meeting:

Travel awards for the Genetics section have been reworked for this year. The awards have been increased to \$500 (for five students) and are now awarded via a lottery system. Best poster award will remain at \$250, but will be split into two awards (one undergrad and one graduate).

The section submitted a funding request to BSA on November 1, 2021, for a total of \$3,750 to support 6 travel awards (\$500 each), the Menzel Award (\$500), and one student poster award (\$250). The BSA Board approved supporting the Genetics section with 4 \$500 student travel awards for a total of \$2000. The section decided to support one additional travel award from existing funds. The Genetics section account balance was \$4768 at the end of September, 2021.

2022 Activities:

The Section is supporting 3 symposia in name:

Coloniality
Vicki Funk
Botanical Legacy

The Section is supporting 3 colloquia in name:

Ericales diversification Ferns at the extreme Innovations and novelty

The section received 30 posters and 91 oral papers

Comparative genomics/transcriptomes (7 posters; 35 oral papers)

Population genetics/genomics (11 poster; 36 oral papers) Hybrids and hybridization (4 posters; 7 oral papers) Functional genetics/genomics (8 posters; 13 oral papers)

The five student travel awards were awarded to: Alyson Van Natto, Noelle Schlenk, Talieh Ostovar, Gracy Buckholtz, and Montana Knight.