Margaret Menzel Award - Genetics

The Genetics Section is pleased to remember DR. MARGARET MENZEL. The Margaret Menzel Award is presented by the Genetics Section for the outstanding paper presented in the contributed papers sessions of the annual meetings. The Menzel award distributes $200 each year.

2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 2020 
2019 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010
2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001
2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997 | 1996 | 1995 | 1994 | 1993 | 1992 |
1991 | 1990 | 1989

2024May Yeo, University of Cambridge, For the Presentation: Genetic basis of bullseye patterning in Hibiscus trionum.

2023Lauren Frankel, University of Wisconsin-Madison, For the Presentation: Summary tests of introgression are highly sensitive to rate variation across lineages. Co-author: Cécile Ané

2022 - Caroline Dowling, University College Dublin, For the Presentation: It's Been a Long Day: Uncovering the genetic control of flowering in Cannabis sativa. Co-authors: Jiaqi Shi, Susanne Schilling, Rainer Melzer

2021 - Irene Liao, Duke University, For the presentation: Identifying candidate genes contributing to nectar trait divergence in the selfing syndrome

Co-authors: Gongyuan Cao, Joanna Rifkin, and Mark Rausher

2020 - Rebecca Povilus, Whitehead Institute, For the Presentation: Single nucleus analysis of Arabidopsis endosperm reveals new, transcriptionally distinct cell types. Co-authors: Colette Picard, Ben Williams, and Mary Gehring

2019 - Erika Frangione, University of Toronto Mississauga for her presentation: Comparative transcriptomics of repeated reticulate evolution in the genus Cuscuta (Convolvulaceae) Co-author: Saša Stefanović

2018 - Alex Harkess, HudsonAlpha Institute for Biotechnology, For the presentation: Testing a “two-gene” model for sex chromosomes evolution in asparagus

2017 - Juan Diego Palacio-Mejia, University of Texas at Austin
For the paper “Population genomics in the native grass Panicum hallii" Co-authors: Taslima Haque, Edgardo M. Ortiz and Thomas E. Juenger.

2016 - Jason Cantley, Bucknell University
For the paper “Monolithic sandstone continental islands of northern Australia unlock secrets of breeding system evolution in five sympatrically occurring species of the Australian spiny Solanum (Solanaceae) lineage" Co-authors: Ingrid Jordon-Thaden, Morgan Roche, Daniel Hayes and Chris Martine.

2015 - Dr. Joshua Puzzy, College of William and Mary
For the paper “Nuclear phylogenomics of the seed plants" Co-authors: Shing Hei Zhan, Tao Chen, Michael Deyholos, James Leebens-Mack, Dennis Stevenson, Philip Thomas, Gane Ka-Shu Wong, Sean W. Graham and Sarah Mathews.

2014 - Dr. Jeremy E. Coate, Reed College

For the paper “Polyploidy and transcriptome size: does genome doubling cause transcriptome doubling?" Co-authors: Michael Song and Jeff J Doyle.

2013 - Dr. Ingrid Jordon-Thaden, University of Florida
For the paper “Differential gene expression and loss in two natural and synthetic allotetraploid Tragopogon species (Asteraceae) and their diploid progenitors" Co-authors: Lyderson Viccini, Richard Buggs, Michael Chester, Ana Veruska Cruz Da Silva, Srikar Chamala, Ruth Davenport, Wei Wu, Patrick S. Schnable, W. Brad Barbazuk, Douglas Soltis and Pamela Soltis.

2011 - Matthew Parks, Oregon State University, Advisor, Aaron Liston
For the paper “Separating the Wheat from the Chaff: Mitigating the Effect of Noisy Data in Plastome Phylogenomic Analyses." Co-authors: Richard Cronn and Aaron Liston.

2010 - James Clarkson, Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew
For the paper “The dynamic Nicotiana genome: diploid hybrids, tetraploid hybrids and inter-allelic recombination." Co-authors: Laura Kelly, Andrew R. Leitch, Sandra Knapp and Mark W. Chase.

2009 - J. Chris Pires, University of Missouri
For the paper “Homoeologous chromosome pairing and rearrangements adientified in allopolyploid Brassica napus by integrated BAC-FISH karyotype of diploid Brassica." Co-author was Zhiyong Xiong.

2008 - Michael Barker, University of British Columbia
For the paper “Evolutionary genomics of hybridization: Detecting ancient hybridization and introgression by the inference of intrologs in plant genomes." Co-author was Loren H. Rieseberg.

2007 - Keith Adams, University of British Columbia
For the paper “Subfunctionalization of genes duplicated by polyploidy in response to environmental stress." Co-author was Zhenlan Liu.

2006 - Katrina Dlugosch, University of California Santa Cruz
For the paper “Inbreeding depression, outbreeding depression, and evolution in founding populations of an invasive plant." Co-author was Ingrid M. Parker.

2005 - Mitchell McGlaughlin, Rancho Santa Ana Botanical Garden
For for the paper “Adaptive diversification in Dubautia laxa (Asteraceae), a widespread member of the Hawaiian silversword alliance." Co-author was Elizabeth Friar.

2004 - Carrie Wu, University of California, Urvine
For for her paper “Spatial genetic structure of cytoplasmic and nuclear markers in natural Ipomopsis (Polemoniaceae) hybrid zone". Her co-author was Diane Campbell.

2003 - Lin da Jennings , University of British Columbia
For her paper "Genetic, morphological and ecological variationwithin and between two Southern Utah endemics, Townsendia aprica and T. jonesii var. lutea (Asteraceae). Her co-author was Jeanette Whitton.

2001 - Briana Gross, Willamette University
For her paper entitled "Potential multiple origins for Helianthus deserticola, a diploid hybrid species." Her paper was co-authored by Andrea Schwarzbach and Loren Rieseberg.

2000 - Joel Duff, University of Akron
For his talk co-authored by Mark Davis and Angela Boyle and entitled "The fate of conserved ribosomal DNA and protein-coding gene clusters during the evolution of land plant mitochondrial genomes."

1998 - Paula Randall, Brigham Young University
For for her talk entitled "Homologs of the Antirrhinum majus centroradialis and floricaula genes in Atriplex garrettii."

1997 - Jerome Laroche, Peng Li, Lurent Maggia, and Jean Bousquet
For their talk entitled "Molecular evolution of angiosperm mitochondrial introns and exons."

1996 - Richard Whitkus, University of California, Riverside
For his paper with Doan Hanh and Timothy Lowry entitled "Genetic control of female sterility in Hawaiian Tetramolopium (Asteraceae)."

1995 - Kelly Gallagher
For her paper entitled "Allozyme evidence for hybridization and introgression between an introduced and a putative native species of Carpobrotus (Aizoaceae)."

1994 - Scott A. Hodges
For his paper co-authored by Michael L. Arnold and entitled "Floral and ecological isolation between Aquilegia formosa and Aquilegia pubescens."

1991 - Steven Broyles
For his paper co-authored by Robert Wyatt on "Pollen-mediated gene flow into natural populations of Poke Milkweed (Asclepias exaltata L.)"

1990 - Jonathan F. Wendel, Iowa State University
For his paper co-authored with James M. Stewart and Jeffrey H. Rettig, "Molecular evidence for the origin of Gossypium bickii via homoploid reticulate speciation."

1989 - Claude W. De Pamphilis, University of Michigan
For his paper, "Evolution of chloroplast DNA under relaxed selection in beechdrops (Epifagus virginiana: Orobanchaceae), a nonphotosynthetic angiosperm."