2021 Officer, Committee and Sectional Reports

All reports due by Tuesday, July 6

JULY 20, 6-7:30pm Eastern


  1. Call to Order and Introductions (Cindi Jones)

  2. Approval of Minutes of the 2020 Council Meeting  

  3. Reports of Executive Committee, Editors, and Staff

    A. President (Cindi Jones)  
    B. Past President (Linda Watson)
    C. President Elect (Michael Donoghue)
    D. Secretary (Rachel Spicer)  See 2020 Council Meeting Minutes
    E. Treasurer's Report,  FY2021 P&LFY2021 Summary P&L vs. Budget,
        FY2022 Budget  (Lucinda McDade) 
    F. Program Director Report (Melanie Link-Perez) 
    G. Editor, American Journal of Botany (Pamela Diggle) (see Publications Report)
    H. Editor, Applications in Plant Sciences (Theresa Culley)(See Publications Report)
    I. Editor, Plant Science Bulletin (MacKenzie Taylor) 
    J. Business Office Report -Executive Director (Heather Cacanindin)

  4. Reports of Committees, Sections, and Representatives

    A. Standing Committees (Administrative)
    1. Executive Committee (Cindi Jones) See President's Report
    2. Annual Meetings Program Committee (Melanie Link-Perez) See Program Director's Reoprt
    3. Committee on Committees (Michael Donoghue)   See President-Elect's report
    4. Development Committee (Jennifer Cruse-Sanders) See DAL Development Report
    5. Education Committee (Chris Martine)
    6. Publications Committee (Emily Sessa)
    7. Election Committee (Linda Watson)  
    8. DEI Committee (Chelsea Specht)
    9. Information Technology Committee (Alex Harkess)
    10. Investment Committee (Toby Kellogg) 
    11. International Affairs  (Hugo Cota Sanchez)
    12. Public Policy Committee (Tanisha Williams and Krissa Skogen)
    13. Student Representatives (Imeña Valdes and Shelly Gaynor)

    B. Standing Committees (Awards and Prizes)

    1. Corresponding Members Committee  (Linda Watson)
            - Dr. Peter Linder
            - Prof. Jianquan Liu
            - Dr. Marie-Stéphanie Samain
    2. BSA Distinguished Fellows and Emerging Leader Awards Committee (Michael Donoghue) see President-Elect report
    3. Bessey Award Committee (Kyra Krakos)- see Teaching section report
    4. Cheadle Award Committee (Jessica Budke)- See D&S Section report
    5. Esau Award Committee (Kurt Neubig) 
    6. Donald R. Kaplan Memorial Lecture Committee (Toby Kellogg)
    7. Moseley Award Committee (see Paleo report)
    8. Kaplan Award in Comparative Morphology (Steve Weller)
    9. Graduate Student Research Awards Committee (Andy Crowl)
    10. Grady L. and Barbara D. Webster Structural Botany Publication Award Committee (Pam Diggle)

    C. Sections

    1. Bryological and Lichenological Section (Doug Ladd / Scott Schuette)
    2. Developmental and Structural Section (Jessica Budke)  
    3. Ecology Section (Brenda Molano-Flores)
    4. Economic Botany Section (Laura Klein / Emily Warshefsky)  
    5. Genetics Section (Ingrid Jordon-Thaden) 
    6. Historical Section (Nuala Caomhanach) 
    7. Paleobotanical Section (Andrew Leslie)
    8. Physiological Section (Arthur Schwarz) 
    9. Phytochemistry Section (Stacey Smith)
    10. Pteridological Section (Alejandra Vasco / Tom A. Ranker) 
    11. PUI Section (Jennifer Ison / Jason Cantley)
    12. Systematics Section (Anna Monfils) 
    13. Teaching Section (Kyra Krakos) 
    14. Tropical Biology Section (Margaret S. Devall) 
    15. Northeastern Section (Amy Faivre / Bonnie Isaac)
    16. Southeastern Section (Jeremy Rentsch) 

    D. Representatives to other Organizations

    1. AAAS - CIndi Jones
    2. AIBS - Krissa Skogen
    3. PSRN / New Decadal Vision- Michael Donoghue

  • Old Business

  • New Business
    A. Strategic Plan - Cindi Jones

    B. FY2022 Budget - Lucinda McDade    
            2% draw on unrestricted portion of the BSA investment account - for approval

    C. Board Recommendations - Cindi Jones

            2022 Student Gift Membership $10

            Recommendation for a 3-year gift membership for students and developing nations $30

Please download the reports and read them PRIOR to the meeting. We will discuss the contents of the reports at the Council meeting.