2020 Officer, Committee and Sectional Reports

All reports due by Friday, July 17

JULY 28, 5-6:30pm EDT


  1. Call to Order and Introductions (Linda Watson)

  2. Approval of Minutes of the 2019 Council Meeting  

  3. Reports of Executive Committee, Editors, and Staff

    A. President (Linda Watson)  
    B. Past President - (Andi Wolfe)
    C. President Elect (Cindi Jones)
    D. Secretary (Rachel Spicer)  See 2019 Council Meeting Minutes
    E. Treasurer's Report,  FY2020 P&LFY2020 Summary P&L vs. Budget,
        FY2021 Budget  (Lucinda McDade) 
    F. Program Director Report (Amy Litt) 
    G. Editor, American Journal of Botany (Pamela Diggle) (see Publications Report)
    H. Editor, Applications in Plant Sciences (Theresa Culley)(See Publications Report)
    I. Editor, Plant Science Bulletin (MacKenzie Taylor) 
    J. Business Office Report -Executive Director (Heather Cacanindin)

  4. Reports of Committees, Sections, and Representatives

    A. Standing Committees (Administrative)
    1. Executive Committee (Linda Watson) See President's Report
    2. Annual Meetings Program Committee (Amy Litt) See Program Director's Reoprt
    3. Committee on Committees (Cindi Jones)   See President-Elect's report
    4. Development Committee (Ned Friedman) See DAL Development Report
    5. Education Committee (Chris Martine)
    6. Publications Committee (Emily Sessa)
    7. Election Committee (Andi Wolfe)  
    8. Committee on Human Diversity (Ann Sakai and Jim Cohen)
    9. Investment Committee (Toby Kellogg) 
    10. International Affairs  (Catarina Rydin) - no action/no report
    11. Public Policy Committee (Kal Tuominen and Krissa Skogen)
    12. Student Representatives (Minya and Shelly Gaynor)

    B. Standing Committees (Awards and Prizes)

    1. Corresponding Members Committee (Andi Wolfe) - no CM nominations in 2020
    2. BSA Distinguished Fellows and Emerging Leader Awards Committee (Doug Soltis)
    3. Bessey Award Committee (Kyra Krakos)- see Teaching section report
    4. Cheadle Award Committee (Jessica Budke)- See D&S Section report
    5. Esau Award Committee (Kurt Neubig) 
    6. Donald R. Kaplan Memorial Lecture Committee (Jennifer Richards)
    7. Moseley Award Committee (see Paleo report)
    8. Kaplan Award in Comparative Morphology (Steve Weller)
    9. Graduate Student Research Awards Committee (Nico Cellinese)

    C. Sections

      1. Bryological and Lichenological Section (Doug Ladd / Scott Schuette)
      2. Developmental and Structural Section (Jessica Budke)  
      3. Ecology Section (Brenda Molano-Flores)
      4. Economic Botany Section (Laura Klein / Emily Warshefsky)  
      5. Genetics Section (Ingrid Jordon-Thaden) 
      6. Historical Section (Nuala Caomhanach) 
      7. Paleobotanical Section (Nathan Jud)
      8. Physiological Section (Arthur Schwarz) 
      9. Pteridological Section (Alejandra Vasco / David Barrington) 
      10. PUI Section (Rachel Jabaily)
      11. Systematics Section (Anna Monfils) 
      12. Teaching Section (Kyra Krakos) 
      13. Tropical Biology Section (Margaret S. Devall) 
      14. Northeastern Section (Bonnie Isaac)
      15. Southeastern Section (Jeremy Rentsch) 

      D. Representatives to other Organizations
      1. AAAS - Linda Watson
      2. AIBS - Krissa Skogen
      3. PSRN / Plant Summit and New Decadal Vision- Michael Donoghue

    1. Old Business

    2. New Business
      A. Sectional Funding Issues and BSA Policy for Requests - Lucinda McDade
      B. FY2021 Budget - Lucinda McDade
      C. Board Recommendations - Linda Watson
      • 2021 Student Gift Membership $10
      • 2021 3-Year PostDoc Membership Option  $105

      Please download the reports and read them PRIOR to the meeting. We will discuss the contents of the reports at the Council meeting.