1999 Officer, Committee and Sectional Reports

ALL of the reports in one file (currently 40 pages): [WORD format] [PDF format]
Revised last: 8/20/99

Sunday, August 1, 1999
8:00 a.m. - 1:30 p.m.
America's Center, Room 252
St. Louis, Missouri


  1. Call to Order and Introductions (Carol Baskin)

  2. Approval of Minutes of 1998 Council Meeting [WORD format]

  3. Reports of Executive Committee, Editors, Webmaster
    A. President (Carol Baskin) [WORD format]
    B. Past President (Nancy Dengler) [WORD format]
    C. President Elect (Doug Soltis) [WORD format]
    D. Secretary (Pam Soltis) [WORD format]
    E. Treasurer (Ed Schneider) [presented at meeting]
    F. Program Director (Wayne Elisens) [WORD format]
    G. Editor, American Journal of Botany (Karl Niklas) [WORD format]
    H. Editor, Plant Science Bulletin (Joe Leverich) [WORD format]
    I. Webmaster (Scott Russell) [WORD format] [EXCEL spreadsheet of hits]
    J. Business Manager (Kim Hiser) [presented at meeting]

  4. Reports of Committees, Sections, and Representatives

    A. Committees
    1. Annual Meetings Committee (Wayne Elisens) [WORD format]
    2. Archives and History Committee (Alan Whittemore) [WORD format]
    3. Committee on Committees (Doug Soltis) [WORD format]
    4. Conservation Committee (Kayri Havens) [WORD format]
    5. Corresponding Members Committee (Nancy Dengler) [WORD format]
    6. Darbaker Prize Committee (Daniel Wujek) [no award in 1999]
    7. Education Committee (David Kramer) [WORD format]
    8. Election Committee (Nancy Dengler) [WORD format]
    9. Esau Award Committee (Thomas Rost) [no award in 1999]
    10. Financial Advisory Committee (Jack Horner) [WORD format]
    11. Karling Awards Committee (Jeff Osborn) [WORD format]
    12. Membership and Appraisal Committee (Leo Bruederle) [WORD format]
    13. Merit Awards Committee (Greg Anderson) [WORD format]
    14. Moseley Award Committee (Jeff Osborn) [WORD format]
    15. Pelton Award Committee (Fred Sack) [no award in 1999]
    16. Webpage Committee (Scott Russell) [WORD format]
    17. Development ad hoc Committee (Judy Jernstedt) [WORD format]
    18. Meetings Organization ad hoc Committee (Wayne Elisens) [WORD format]
    19. Public Affairs ad hoc Committee (J. S. Shipman)
    20. Conant Travel Awards ad hoc Committee (Dan Crawford) [WORD format]

    B. Sections
    1. Bryological and Lichenological Section (Paula DePriest) [WORD format]
    2. Developmental and Structural Section (Jean Gerrath) [WORD format]
    3. Ecology Section (Maxine Watson) [WORD format]
    4. Economic Botany Section (Daniel Harder) [WORD format]
    5. Genetics Section (Jeri Higginbotham) [WORD format]
    6. Historical Section (Laurence Dorr) [WORD format]
    7. Mycological Section (David Hibbett) [WORD format]
    8. Paleobotanical Section (Steve Manchester) [WORD format]
    9. Phycological Section (Louise Lewis) [WORD format]
    10. Physiological Section (Pete Straub/Denise Seliskar) [WORD format]
    11. Phytochemical Section (James Wallace)
    12. Pteridological Section (Tom Ranker) [WORD format]
    13. Systematics Section (Mark Porter)
    14. Teaching Section (Rob Reinsvold) [WORD format]
    15. Tropical Biology Section (Andrew Douglas) [WORD format]
    16. Midcontinent Section (Wayne Elisens) [WORD format]
    17. Northeastern Section (Karl Anderson)
    18. Pacific Section (David Bilderback) [WORD format]
    19. Southeastern Section (Kathleen Hornberger) [WORD format]

    C. Representatives to other Organizations
    1. AAAS
    2. AIBS
    3. CSSP (Nancy Dengler) [WORD format]
    4. ASC (Larry Skog) [WORD format]

  5. Old Business

    A. Bylaws changes (Pam Soltis)
    B. "Fire Sale" of back issues of AJB (Kim Hiser)
    C. Call for back issues of AJB for JSTOR electronic archives
    D. Other items of Old Business

  6. New Business

    A. 1999 BSA Budget (Ed Schneider)
    B. 1999 Business Office, AJB, and PSB Budgets (Kim Hiser)
    C. Report/visit from Conferon representative(s) about Botany-2000 at 9:30 a.m.
    D. Plans for Botany-2000
    E. Ecology Software Consortium Discussion
    F. New Editor of Plant Science Bulletin
    G. Careers in Botany
    H. Publication of Symposia

  7. Election of Council Representative to Executive Committee

  8. Other Business

  9. Adjournment


  • Annual Business Meeting: Tuesday, August 3, 7:30-9:00 a.m., America's Center, Room 130. Light breakfast provided.
  • BSA Social, co-hosted with CBA and MBS: Thursday, August 5, 7:00-10:00 p.m., Missouri Botanical Garden (ticket required).