2024 Officer, Committee and Sectional Reports

All reports due by Monday, June 3

JUNE 16, 3-5pm
Location: Amway Grand, Governor's Ballroom


  1. Call to Order and Introductions (Brenda Molano-Flores)

  2. Approval of Minutes of the 2023 Council Meeting  

  3. Reports of Executive Committee, Editors, and Staff

    A. President (Brenda Molano-Flores)  
    B. Past President (Vivian Negron-Ortiz)
    C. President Elect (Jenny Xiang)
    D. Treasurer Financial ReportFY2024 P&LFY2024 Budget vs. Actual,
        FY2025 Budget  (Allison Miller) 
    E. Program Director Report (Melanie Link-Perez) 
    F. Editor, American Journal of Botany (Pamela Diggle) (see Publications Report)
    G. Editor, Applications in Plant Sciences (Briana Gross)(See Publications Report)
    H. Editor, Plant Science Bulletin (MacKenzie Taylor) 
    I. Business Office Report -Executive Director (Heather Cacanindin)

  4. Reports of Committees, Sections, and Representatives

    A. Standing Committees and Other Administrative Reports
    1. Executive Committee (Brenda Molano-Flores) See President's Report
    2. Annual Meetings Program Committee (Melanie Link-Perez) See Program Director's Reoprt
    3. Committee on Committees / Committee Appointments (Jenny Xiang)   See President-Elect's report
    4. Development Committee (Jennifer Cruse-Sanders)
    5. Financial Advisory Committee (Larry Hufford)
    6. Education Committee (Rachel Jabaily)
    7. Publications Committee (Emily Sessa)
    8. Election Committee (Vivian Negron-Ortiz)   - See Past President's Report
    9. DEI Committee (Karolina Heyduk)
    10. Information Technology Committee - nothing to report
    11. Investment Committee (Kent Holsinger) 
    12. International Affairs Committee  - (Shengchen Shan)
    13. Public Policy Committee (Andrew Pais)
    14. Early Career Professional Development Committee (Miranda Sinnott-Armstrong)
    15. Student Representatives (Eli Hartung and Josh Felton)
    16. Ad Hoc Climate Change Committee (Vivian Negron-Ortiz) - See Past-President's Report
    17. Ad Hoc Membership Committee (Amelia Neely)

    B. Standing Committees (Awards and Prizes)

    1. Corresponding Members Committee  (Vivian Negron-Ortiz) See Past-President's Report
    2. BSA Distinguished Fellows and Emerging Leader Awards Committee (Jim Leebens-Mack)
    3. Bessey Award Committee (Rachel Jabaily)- see Education Report
    4. Cheadle Award Committee (Yaowu Yuan)- See D&S Section report
    5. Esau Award Committee (Yaowu Yuan?) - See D&S Section report
    6. Donald R. Kaplan Memorial Lecture Committee (Ned Friedman)
    7. Moseley Award Committee (see Paleo report)
    8. Kaplan Award in Comparative Morphology (Natalia Pabon-Mora)
    9. Graduate Student Dissertation Award in Comparative Plant Biology (Dave Tank)
    10. Graduate Student Research Awards Committee (Richard Moore)

    C. Sections

    1. Bryological and Lichenological Section (Daphne Stone)
    2. Developmental and Structural Section (Yaowu Yuan)  
    3. Ecology Section  (Uromi Goodale)
    4. Economic Botany Section (Emily Warshefsky)  
    5. Genetics Section (Jeremy Coate) 
    6. Historical Section (Marshall Sundberg) 
    7. Paleobotanical Section (Fabiany Herrera)
    8. Physiological and Ecophysiological Section (Jessica Savage) 
    9. Phytochemistry Section (Gaurav Moghe)
    10. Pteridological Section (Alejandra Vasco) 
    11. PUI Section (Nathan Jud)
    12. Systematics Section (Jennifer Mandel) 
    13. Teaching Section (Ben Montgomery) 
    14. Tropical Biology Section (Vinita Gowda) 
    15. Northeastern Section (Amy Faivre / Bonnie Isaac)
    16. Southeastern Section (Jeremy Rentsch) 

    5. Old Business

    6.  New Business
                A.  FY2025 Budget - Allison Miller
                B. Corresponding Members Recommendation - Vivian Negron-Ortiz
                    Else Marie Friis
                    Mark Olson 

    Please download the reports and read them PRIOR to the meeting. We will discuss the contents of the reports at the Council meeting.