Award Committee Appointments - 2024 Fall

<u>Graduate Student Dissertation Award in Phylogenetic Comparative Plant Biology – needs 2</u> <u>Currently -</u>

Joyce Onyenedum – NYU

David Tank – U Wyoming

Barbara Whitlock – University of Miami

Ken Sytsma – University of Wisconsin- Madison

Possibilities -

Laura Lagomarsino (LSU)
Aaron Liston (Oregon State)
Erika Edwards (Yale)
Ya Yang (U Minnesota)
Ryan Folk (Miss State)
Chelsea Specht (Cornell)
Sarah Mathews (LSU)
Kadeem Gilbert (MSU)
Jacob Suissa (UTK)
Stacey Smith at (UC Boulder) – on committee
John Schenk (Ohio U) – on two committees
Emily Sessa at (NYBG) – on Board

Kaplan Dissertation Award in Comparative Morphology - needs 1

Currently -

Natalia Pabon-Mora (Universidad de Antioquia) Marcelo Pace (UNAM) Mark Olson (UNAM) Jessica Budke (U of TN- Knoxville)

Possibilities -

Luke Nikolov (Indiana U)
Min Ya (University of Illinois)
Anna Jacobsen (CSU – Bakersfield)
Andrew Leslie – (Stanford U) not a current member
Chris Muir (U Hawaii)
Adam Roddy (FIU) not a current member
Jacob Suissa (U of TN – Knoxville)
Cindi Jones (UConn)

<u>Darbarker Award</u>- meritorious work in the study of microscopic algae, based on papers published by the nominee during the last two full calendar years.

Needs a committee! We have a nominee but award has not been given in 5 years. Have been trying to revive this award and work with the Phycological Society of America to advertise the opportunity.

Possibilities -

John Kiss (UNC-Greensboro)
Louise Lewis (U Conn)
Robin O'Quinn (Eastern Washington University)
Daniel Stanton (University of MN Twin Cities)
Phycological Society of America representative (request a leader from their Board)