The Edgar T. Wherry Award

This award is in honor of Dr. Wherry's many contributions to the floristics and patterns of evolutions of ferns. This award is given for the best paper presented during the contributed papers session of the Pteridological Section. The Wherry award distributes $250 each year.

Award Recipients:

2014 - Dr. Joanne M. Sharpe, Sharplex Services
For her paper; "Hindsight is 20/20: Highlights from a 20-year ecological study of 20 fern species in the Luquillo rainforest of Puerto Rico" and

Dr. Fay-Wei Li, Duke University
For his paper; "Massive horizontal gene transfer of a chimeric photoreceptor within ferns" Co-author: Kathleen M Pryer

2013 - Sally Stevens , Purdue University, Advisor and co-author Nancy Emery
For her paper; "No Place Like Home? Testing for Local Adaptation and Dispersal Limitation in the Fern Vittaria appalachiana (Vittariaceae)"

2012 - Weston Testo, Colgate University, Advisor and co-author James Watkins
For his paper; "Comparative gametophyte ecology of the American hart's-tongue fern and associated fern taxa: evidence for recent population declines in New York State"

2011 - Monique McHenry,University of Vermont, Advisor and co-author David S. Barrington
For her paper; "Investigating morphological diversity of Andean Polystichum (Dryopteridaceae): seeking explanations for incongruence between sequence variation and morphological variation"

2010 - Susan Sprunt, Miami University of Ohio
For her paper; "Of genes, scales and venation: Detecting patterns of variation in the Pleopeltis polypodioides species complex (Polypodiaceae)"

2008 - Mary Stensvold, of USDA Forest Service, Alaska Region
For her paper; Genetic diversity in the Botrychium lunaria (Ophioglossaceae) complex." Her co-author was Don Farrar; and

Melanie Link-Perez of Miami University, for her paper, Toward a Redefinition of Adiantopsis Fe (Pteridaceae). Co-authors were Linda Watson and Jim Hickey.

2007 - Renee A. Lopez-Smith, Southern Illinois University
For her paper; " Sperm cell architecture and the neck canal in diploid and tetraploid Ceratopteris cytotypes: does size matter?" Her co-author was Karen Renzaglia.

2006 - Eric Shuettpelz, Duke University
For his paper; " Toward a comprehensive phylogeny of extant ferns"

2005 - James (Eddie) Watkins, University of Florida
For his paper “Stress physiology of fern gametophytes: consequences for distribution and abundance.”

2004 - Harald Schneider, University of Goettingen
For for his paper “Radiations in Drynarioid ferns: evolution of humus collectors as a putative morphological key innovation”. The paper was co-authored with Thomas Janssen.

2003 - Michael Barker, Miami University, Ohio
For his paper "Microlepidopteran soral mimics in the Caribbean". The paper was co-authored by Shane Shaw, James Hickey, and John Rawlins.

2001 - Sabine Hennequin, Universite Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris, France
For for her paper "Systematics of the fern genus Hymenophyllum s.l. (Hymenophyllaceae) inferred from rbcL and rps4 nucleotide sequences and morphology." The paper was co-authored by Jean-Yves Dubuisson.

2000 - Patricia Sanchez-Baracaldo, University of California, Berkeley
For the for her talk entitled, "A recent radiation of Neotropical fern genera in paramo ecosystems."

Petra Korall, Stockholm University
For her poster entitled "Phylogeny of Selaginellaceae based on rbcl gene sequences" (co-author Paul Kenrick).

Catherine Cardelus, University of Connecticut
For her poster entitled "Habitat selection of epiphytic and terrestrial ferns" (co-author James Watkins).

1997 - James P. Therrien, Univerisyt of Kansas
For his talk entitled "Evolution and diversification of the Selaginellaceae."

1991 - David S. Conant
For his presentation co-authored by Diana B. Stein and Angela E. Valinski entitled "Phylogenetic implications of chloroplast DNA variation in the Cyatheaceae."

1990 - Judith E. Skog, George Mason University
For her paper entitled "The relationship of the fossil fern Schizaeopsis to Schizaea and Actinostachys."

1989 - Cathy A. Paris, University of Vermont
For her paper, "Evolutionary genetics of the Adiantum pedatum complex: Phylogeny and biogeography."

George Yatskievych, Missouri Botanical Garden
For his paper, "A reconsideration of the genus Pityrogramma in the southwestern United States."

  Society Awards


  Student Travel Awards

» Developmental & Structural Section
» Ecological Section
» Economic Botany Section
» Genetics Section
» Pteridological Section

  Named Awards

» Charles Edwin Bessey Teaching Award
» Vernon I. Cheadle Student Travel Awards
» Michael Cichan Award
» Triarch "Botanical Images" Student Travel Award
» Isabel Cookson Award
» The Darbaker Prize
» Katherine Esau Award
» J. S. Karling Graduate Student Research Award
» Margaret Menzel Award
» Maynard Moseley Award
» Jeanette Siron Pelton Award
» Winfried and Renate Remy Award
» A. J. Sharp Award
» Grady L. Webster Structural Botany Publication Award
» Edgar T. Wherry Award

  Sectional Awards

» Ecological Section Student Presentation
       & Poster Awards
» Genetics Section Graduate Student Research Awards
» Genetics Section Student Poster Award
» Historical Section Student Presentation Award
» Physiological Section Li-COR Prize
» Physiological Section Student Presentation Award

  Special Funds

» James M. and Esther N. Schopf Fund

  Special Announcements

» Why should you join the Society as a student?
» Renew Membership / Join BSA
» Employment/Research Opportunities

Grady L. Webster Award Vernon I Cheadle STA Conant Botanical Images STA BSA Image Collection Charles E Bessey Award