The A. J. Sharp Award

Named in honor of the late Dr. Jack Sharp, the award encourages students of bryophtes and lichens, just as he did during his lifetime. This award is given for the best student paper presented in the Bryological and Lichenological sessions.

Award Recipients:

2014 - Gajendra Shrestha, Brigham Young University
For his paper "Lichen, Mans new best friend: How simple symbionts might defeat bacterial pathogens ." Co-authors: Andrew Thompson, Steven Leavitt, Richard Robison, and Larry St. Clair

2013 - Matthew Nelsen, University of Chicago
For his paper "Lichen-associated algae: we hardly know you." Co-author: Steven D. Leavitt

2010 - Juan Carlos Villarreal, University of Connecticut
For his paper "Thousands of years without sex: The case of the Southern Appalachian Nothoceros aenigmaticus."

2006 - Norm Wickett, University of Connecticut
For his paper “Towards a complete chloroplast genome sequence of the non-photosynthetic liverwort Cryptothallus mirabilis (Metzgeriales, Marchantiophyta).Lepraria and Thamnolia.”

2005 - Mathew P. Nelson, University of Wisconsin
For his paper “Photobiont diversity and fungal specificity in the lichen genera Lepraria and Thamnolia.” His co-author was Andrea Gargas.

2004 - Erin Martin, Oregon State University
For her for her paper “Variation in the occurrence of rare epiphytic lichens of the western Oregon Cascades” Her co-authors were Bruce McCune and Linda Geiser.

2003 - Dorothybelle Poli, University of Maryland
For her paper "Auxin regulation of axial growth in bryophytesporophytes: Its potential significance for the evolution of early landplants" Her co-authors were Mark Jacobs and Todd Cooke.

2001 - Dennis P. Wall, University of California, Berkeley
For his paper "Population structure and patterns of island radiation in the paleotropic endemic moss, Mitthyridium: insights from a rapidly evolving nuclear gene, glyceraldehyde 3-phosphate dehydrogenase (gpd)"

2000 - Shanti Berryman, Oregon State University
For her presentation "Differences in epiphytic lichen communities and biomass among forest stand types in the Blue River watershed of western Oregon."

1999 - John R. Clark, University of Cincinatti
For his paper entitled "Observations in the development of the cleistocarpous moss, Eccremidium floridanum Crum (Ditrichaceae)." His research advisor is Jerry Snider.

1998 - Abbey Rosso, Oregon State University
For her paper entitled "Responses of shrub epiphyte communities to overstory thinning in forest of Western Oregon."

1997 - Katherine Preston, Indiana University
For her paper entitled "Ecological and developmental studies on the dwarf male breeding system of the moss Dicranum scoparium in the North Carolina Piedmont." Her research advisor was Brent Mischler, then at Duke University.

1991 - Paula dePriest
For her paper entitled "Multiple insertions in the small subunit ribosomal DNA of the Cladonia chlorophaea complex (lichen-forming Ascomycotina)."

1989 - Francois Lutzoni, National Museum of Natural Sciences, Ottawa
For his paper, "Systematics of the Ionaspis-Hymenelia complex (lichenized Ascomycotina) in North America."

  Society Awards


  Student Travel Awards

» Developmental & Structural Section
» Ecological Section
» Economic Botany Section
» Genetics Section
» Pteridological Section

  Named Awards

» Charles Edwin Bessey Teaching Award
» Vernon I. Cheadle Student Travel Awards
» Michael Cichan Award
» Triarch "Botanical Images" Student Travel Award
» Isabel Cookson Award
» The Darbaker Prize
» Katherine Esau Award
» J. S. Karling Graduate Student Research Award
» Margaret Menzel Award
» Maynard Moseley Award
» Jeanette Siron Pelton Award
» Winfried and Renate Remy Award
» A. J. Sharp Award
» Grady L. Webster Structural Botany Publication Award
» Edgar T. Wherry Award

  Sectional Awards

» Ecological Section Student Presentation
       & Poster Awards
» Genetics Section Graduate Student Research Awards
» Genetics Section Student Poster Award
» Historical Section Student Presentation Award
» Physiological Section Li-COR Prize
» Physiological Section Student Presentation Award

  Special Funds

» James M. and Esther N. Schopf Fund

  Special Announcements

» Why should you join the Society as a student?
» Renew Membership / Join BSA
» Employment/Research Opportunities

Grady L. Webster Award Vernon I Cheadle STA Conant Botanical Images STA BSA Image Collection Charles E Bessey Award